Awards & Other Booklists

The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

Administered by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award was first given to its namesake in 1954. The award, a bronze medal, honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Between 1960 and 1980, the Wilder Award was given every five years. From 1980 to 2001, it was awarded every three years. Beginning in 2001, it has been awarded every two years.

For more information see: The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award website

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Year Author or Illustrator
2016 Jerry Pinkney
2015 Donald Crews
2013 Katherine Paterson
2011 Tomie dePaola
2009 Ashley Bryan
2007 James Marshall
2005 Laurence Yep
2003 Eric Carle
2001 Milton Meltzer
1998 Russell Freedman
1995 Virginia Hamilton
1992 Marcia Brown
1989 Elizabeth George Speare
1986 Jean Fritz
1983 Maurice Sendak
1980 Theodor S. Geisel (Dr. Seuss)
1975 Beverly Cleary
1970 E. B. White
1965 Ruth Sawyer
1960 Clara Ingram Judson
1954 Laura Ingalls Wilder