Awards & Other Booklists

The Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature

The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. The award is sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association.

For more information see: The Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Year Title Author
2018 Winner We Are Okay Nina LaCour
  Honor Books Long Way Down Jason Reynolds
  The Hate U Give Angie Thomas
  Strange the Dreamer Laini Taylor
  Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers Deborah Heiligman
2017 Winner March John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell
  Honor Books Asking for It Louise O’Neill
  The Passion of Dolssa Julie Berry
  Scythe Neal Shusterman
  The Sun is Also a Star Nicola Yoon
2016 Winner Bone Gap Laura Ruby
  Honor Books The Ghosts of Heaven Marcus Sedgwick
  Out of Darkness Ashley Hope Pérez
2015 Winner I'll Give You the Sun Jandy Nelson
  Honor Books And We Stay Jenny Hubbard
  The Carnival at Bray Jessie Ann Foley
  Grasshopper Jungle Andrew Smith
  This One Summer Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Jillian Tamaki
2014 Winner Midwinterblood Marcus Sedgwick
  Honor Books Eleanor & Park Rainbow Rowell
  Kingdom of Little Wounds Susann Cokal
  Maggot Moon Sally Gardner
  Navigating Early Clare Vanderpool
2013 Winner In Darkness Nick Lake
  Honor Books Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Benjamin Alire Sáenz
  Code Name Verity Elizabeth Wein
  Dodger Terry Pratchett
  White Bicycle Beverley Brenna
2012 Winner Where Things Come Back John Corey Whaley
  Honor Books Why We Broke Up Daniel Handler
  The Returning Christine Hinwood
  Jasper Jones Craig Silvey
  The Scorpio Races Maggie Stiefvater
2011 Winner Ship Breaker Paolo Bacigalupi
  Honor Books Stolen Lucy Christopher
  Please Ignore Vera Dietz A.S. King
  Revolver Marcus Sedgwick
  Nothing Janne Teller
2010 Winner Going Bovine Libba Bray
  Honor Books Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith Deborah Heiligman
  The Monstrumologist Rick Yancey
  Punkzilla Adam Rapp
  Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance John Barnes
2009 Winner Jellicoe Road Melina Marchetta
  Honor Books The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II: The Kingdom on the Waves M. T. Anderson
  The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks E. Lockhart
  Nation Terry Pratchett
  Tender Morsels Margo Lanagan
2008 WinnerThe White DarknessGeraldine McCaughrean
  Honor BooksDreamquake: Book Two of the Dreamhunter Duet Elizabeth Knox
 One Whole and Perfect DayJudith Clarke
 RepossessedA.M. Jenkins
 Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia PlathStephanie Hemphill
2007 WinnerAmerican Born ChineseGene Luen Yang
  Honor BooksThe Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation; v. 1: The Pox PartyM.T. Anderson
 An Abundance of KatherinesJohn Green
 SurrenderSonya Hartnett
 The Book ThiefMarkus Zusak
2006 WinnerLooking for AlaskaJohn Green
  Honor BooksBlack JuiceMargo Lanagan
 I Am the MessengerMarkus Zusak
 John Lennon: All I Want Is the Truth, a Photographic BiographyElizabeth Partridge
 A Wreath for Emmett TillMarilyn Nelson
2005 Winnerhow i live nowMeg Rosoff
  Honor BooksAirbornKenneth Oppel
 Chanda's SecretsAllan Stratton
 Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster BoyGary D. Schmidt
2004 WinnerThe First Part LastAngela Johnson
  Honor BooksA Northern LightJennifer Donnelly
 Keesha's HouseHelen Frost
 Fat Kid Rules the WorldK.L. Going
 The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round ThingsCarolyn Mackler
2003 WinnerPostcards from No Man's LandAidan Chambers
  Honor BooksThe House of the ScorpionNancy Farmer
 My HeartbeatGarret Freymann-Weyr
 Hole in My LifeJack Gantos
2002 WinnerA Step From HeavenAn Na
  Honor BooksThe RopemakerPeter Dickinson
 Heart to Heart: New Poems Inspired by Twentieth-Century American ArtJan Greenberg Abrams
 FreewillChris Lynch
 True BelieverVirginia Euwer Wolff
2001 WinnerKit's WildernessDavid Almond
  Honor BooksMany StonesCarolyn Coman
 The Body of Christopher CreedCarol Plum-Ucci
 Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging: Confessions of Georgia NicolsonLouise Rennison
 Stuck in NeutralTerry Trueman
2000 WinnerMonsterWalter Dean Myers
  Honor BooksSkelligDavid Almond
 SpeakLaurie Halse Anderson
 Hard LoveEllen Wittlinger