Awards & Other Booklists

Massachusetts Children's Book Award Winners

The Massachusetts Children's Book Award was established as a program to encourage children to read great books. The children themselves vote for the book they think deserves to be named the book of the year. The award was started in 1975 by Dr. Helen Constant. The award program was developed because children in intermediate grades seemed to lose interest in reading after learning how to read. The award is sponsored by Salem State College in Salem, Massachusetts.

For more information on the Massachusetts Book Awards see the Massachusetts Children's Book Award site at Salem State College

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Year Title Author
2017 El Deafo CeCe Bel
2016 One and Only Ivan Katherine Applegate
2015 The Lions of Little Rock Kristin Levine
2014 Out of My Mind Sharon M. Draper
2013 Because of Mr. Terupt Rob Buyea
2012 When You Reach Me Rebecca Stead
2011 11 Birthdays Wendy Mass
2010Found (Missing Series # 1)Margaret Peterson Haddix
2009The Mysterious Benedict SocietyTrenton Lee Stewart
2008The Lightning ThiefRick Riordan
2007The Tale of DespereauxKate DiCamillo
2006Molly Moon's Incredible Book of Hypnotism Georgia Byng
2005The Thief Lord Cornelia Funke
2004Jackie & Me Dan Gutman
2003Artemis Fowl Eoin Colfer
2002Because of Winn-Dixie Kate DiCamillo
2001Holes Louis Sachar
2000Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone J. K. Rowling
1999Frindle Andrew Clements
1998Crash Jerry Spinelli
1997Wayside School Gets A Little Stranger Louis Sachar
1996The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle Avi
1995Hatchet Gary Paulsen
1994Shiloh Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
1993Maniac Magee Jerry Spinelli
1992Matilda Roald Dahl
1991There's a Boy in the Girls' Bathroom Louis Sachar
1990No award was given; Dr. Constant was on sabbatical
1989The Chocolate Touch Patrick Skene Catling
1988The Indian in the Cupboard Lynne Reid Banks
1987Where the Red Fern Grows Wilson Rawls
1986Dear Mr. Henshaw Beverly Cleary
1985Nothing's Fair in the Fifth Grade Barthe DeClements
1984Charlotte's Web E.B. White
1983Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing Judy Blume
1983Stranger with My Face Lois Duncan
1982James and the Giant PeachRoald Dahl
1982Killing Mr. Griffin Lois Duncan
1981The Great Gilly Hopkins Katherine Paterson
1981A Summer to Die Lois Lowry
1980Chocolate Fever Robert Kimmel Smith
1980Summer of My German Soldier Bette Greene
1979The Cricket in Times Square George Selden
1979The Cat Ate My Gymsuit Paula Danziger
1978Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh Robert C. O'Brien
1978That Was Then, This Is Now S. E. Hinton
1977Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing Judy Blume
1976How to Eat Fried Worms Thomas Rockwell