Awards & Other Booklists

Massachusetts Children’s Book Award
Master List for 2017-2018

The Massachusetts Children's Book Award was established as a program to encourage children to read great books. The children themselves vote for the book they think deserves to be named the book of the year. The award was started in 1975 by Dr. Helen Constant. The award program was developed because children in intermediate grades seemed to lose interest in reading after learning how to read. The award is sponsored by Salem State College in Salem, Massachusetts.

The current Master List with grade level guide can be found here
For more information on the Massachusetts Book Awards see the Massachusetts Children's Book Award site.

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Title Author
The Forbidden Stone Tony Abbott
Inspector Flytrap Tom Angelberger
The Jumbies Tracey Baptiste
The War that Saved My Life Kimberley Brubaker Bradley
Lowriders in Space Cathy Camper
Stella by Starlight Sharon M. Draper
Space Case: A Moon Base Alpha Novel Stuart Gibbs
Full Cicada Moon Marilyn Hilton
Fish in a Tree Lynda Mullaly Hunt
Roller Girl Victoria Jamieson
Maps & Geography Ken Jennings
Misadventures of the Family Fletcher Dana Alison Levy
The Truth of Me: About a Boy, His Grandmother, and a Very Good Dog. Patricia MacLachan
Greenglass House Kate Milford
The Turtle of Oman Naomi Shihab Nye
Nest Kenneth Oppel
The Seventh Most Important Thing Shelley Pearsall
Nuts to You Lynne Rae Perkins
The Blackthorn Key Kevin Sands
Jack: The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk Liesl Shurtliff
Another Day as Emily Eileen Spinelli
Screaming Staircase Jonathan Stroud
Coral Reefs: Cities of the Ocean: Science Comics Maris Wicks
The Blossoming Universe of Violet Diamond Brenda Woods
Brown Girl Dreaming Jacqueline Woodson