Awards & Other Booklists

Massachusetts Children’s Book Award
Master List for 2016-2017

The Massachusetts Children's Book Award was established as a program to encourage children to read great books. The children themselves vote for the book they think deserves to be named the book of the year. The award was started in 1975 by Dr. Helen Constant. The award program was developed because children in intermediate grades seemed to lose interest in reading after learning how to read. The award is sponsored by Salem State College in Salem, Massachusetts.

The current Master List with grade level guide can be found here

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Title Author
Sophia's War: A Tale of the RevolutionAvi
El DeafoCece Bell
The Witch's BoyKelly Barnhill
The Water CastleMegan Frazer Blakemore
Out of BoundsFred Bowen
The Buddy Files: The Case of the School GhostDori Hillestad Butler
Book ScavengerJennifer Chambliss Bertman
No Ordinary DayDeborah Ellis
Seagulls Don't Eat Pickles: Fish Finelli Book 1Erica Farber
PoachedStuart Gibbs
Absolutely AlmostLisa Graff
The Time FetchAmy Herrick
The Fourteenth GoldfishJennifer L. Holm
Zeus and the Thunderbolt of Doom (Heroes in Training)Joan Holub
Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry FarmerKelly Jones
The Adventures of a South Pole Pig: A novel of snow and courageChris Kurtz
The Stratford Zoo Midnight Revue Presents Romeo and JulietIan Lendle
The Colossus Rises: Seven Wonders Book 1Peter Lerangis
BlissKathryn Littlewood
A Snicker of MagicNatalie Lloyd
Anton and Cecil: Cats at SeaLisa Martin and Valerie Martin
Quinny and HopperAdriana Brad Schanen
I Survived: The Great Chicago Fire, 1871Lauren Tarshis
Loot: How to Steal a FortuneJude Watson
Mystery on Pine Lake: Cooper and PackratTamra Wright