Awards & Other Booklists

Massachusetts Children’s Book Award
Master List for 2015-2016

The Massachusetts Children's Book Award was established as a program to encourage children to read great books. The children themselves vote for the book they think deserves to be named the book of the year. The award was started in 1975 by Dr. Helen Constant. The award program was developed because children in intermediate grades seemed to lose interest in reading after learning how to read. The award is sponsored by Salem State College in Salem, Massachusetts.

The current Master List with grade level guide can be found here
For more information on the Massachusetts Book Awards see the Massachusetts Children's Book Award site at Salem State College

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Title Author
The One and Only Ivan Katherine Applegate
Go for the Goal! Fred Bowen
Gaby, Lost and Found Angela Cervantes
The School for Good and Evil Soman Chainani
The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell Chris Colfer
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures Kate DiCamillo
Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy Karen Foxlee
Fotunately, the Milk Neil Gaiman
Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library Chris Grabenstein
A Tangle of Knots Lisa Graff
Charlie Bumpers vs. The Teacher of the Year Bill Harley
Mr. and Mrs. Bunny – Detectives Extraordinaire! Polly Horvath
Legend of the Ghost Dog Elizabeth Cody Kimmel
Jack Gets a Clue: The Case of the Loose-Toothed Shark Nancy Krulik
Elvis and the Underdogs Jenny Lee
Athlete vs. Mathlete W. C. Mack
Fly Away Patricia MacLachlan
Hiding Out at the Pancake Palace Nan Marino
Kelsey Green, Reading Queen Claudia Mills
The Nearly Calamitous Taming of PZ: A laboratory dog’s search for love Martha Ritter
Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin Liesl Shurtliff
Counting by 7s Holly Goldberg Sloan
Wings of Fire: The Dragonet Prophecy Tui T. Sutherland
I Survived: The Attacks of September 11, 2001 Lauren Tarshis
Kizzy Ann Stamps Jeri Watts