Awards & Other Booklists

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. The winner(s), recognized for their literary and artistic achievements that demonstrate creativity and imagination to engage children in reading, receives a bronze medal. Honor Book authors and illustrators receive certificates, which are presented at the ALA Annual Conference. The award was established in 2004 and first presented in 2006.

For more information see: Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Year Title Author and Illustrator
2018 Charlie & Mouse Laurel Snyder
2017 We Are Growing: A Mo Willemsí Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Book Laurie Keller
2016 Donít Throw It to Mo! David A. Adler, Sam Ricks
2015 You Are (Not) Small Anna Kang, Christopher Weyant
2014 The Watermelon Seed Greg Pizzoli
2013 Up, Tall and High! Ethan Long
2012 Tales for Very Picky Eaters Josh Schneider
2011 Bink and Gollie Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee; Tony Fucile
2010 Benny and Penny in the Big No-No! Geoffrey Hayes
2009 Are You Ready to Play Outside? Mo Willems
2008 There Is a Bird on Your Head Mo Willems
2007 Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways Laura McGee Kvasnosky
2006 Henry and Mudge and the Great Grandpas Cynthia Rylant, SuÁie Stevenson