Awards & Other Booklists

The Edgar Awards - Best Novel

Since 1946, The Edgar Allan Poe Awards (popularly called the Edgars), named after Edgar Allan Poe, are presented every year by the Mystery Writers of America. They honor the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction, television, film, and theater published or produced in the previous year.

For more information see: The Edgar Awards

Click on the authors or titles below to search the catalog

Year Title Author
2018 Bluebird, Bluebird Attica Locke
2017 Before the Fall Noah Hawley
2016 Let Me Die in His Footsteps Lori Roy
2015 Mr. Mercedes Stephen King
2014 Ordinary Grace William Kent Krueger
2013 Live by Night Dennis Lehane
2012 Gone Mo Hayder
2011 The Lock Artist Steve Hamilton
2010 The Last Child John Hart
2009 Blue Heaven C. J. Box
2008 Down River John Hart
2007 The Janissary Tree Jason Goodwin
2006 Citizen Vince Jess Walter
2005 California Girl T. Jefferson Parker
2004 Resurrection Men Ian Rankin
2003 Winter and Night S. J. Rozan
2002 Silent Joe T. Jefferson Parker
2001 The Bottoms Joe R. Lansdale
2000 Bones Jan Burke
1999 Mr. White's Confession Robert Clark
1998 Cimarron Rose James Lee Burke
1997 The Chatham School Affair Thomas H. Cook
1996 Come to Grief Dick Francis
1995 The Red Scream Mary Willis Walker
1994 The Sculptress Minette Walters
1993 Bootlegger's Daughter Margaret Maron
1992 A Dance at the Slaughterhouse Lawrence Block
1991 New Orleans Mourning Julie Smith
1990 Black Cherry Blues James Lee Burke
1989 A Cold Red Sunrise Stuart M. Kaminsky
1988 Old Bones Aaron Elkins
1987 A Dark-Adapted Eye Barbara Vine
1986 The Suspect L. R. Wright
1985 Briarpatch Ross Thomas
1984 LaBrava Elmore Leonard
1983 Billinsgate Shoal Rick Boyer
1982 Peregrine William Bayer
1981 Whip Hand Dick Francis
1980 The Rheingold Route Arthur Maling
1979 Eye of the Needle Ken Follett
1978 Catch Me: Kill Me William Hallahan
1977 Promised Land Robert B. Parker
1976 Hopscotch Brian Garfield
1975 Peter's Pence Jon Cleary
1974 Dance Hall of the Dead Tony Hillerman
1973 The Lingala Code Warren Kiefer
1972 The Day of the Jackal Frederick Forsyth
1971 The Laughing Policeman Maj Sjöwall & Per Wahlöö
1970 Forfeit Dick Francis
1969 A Case of Need Jeffery Hudson
1968 God Save the Mark Donald E. Westlake
1967 King of the Rainy Country Nicolas Freeling
1966 The Quiller Memorandum Adam Hall
1965 The Spy Who Came in from the Cold John le Carré
1964 The Light of Day Eric Ambler
1963 Death and the Joyful Woman Ellis Peters
1962 Gideon's Fire J. J. Marric
1961 The Progress of a Crime Julian Symons
1960 The Hours Before Dawn Celia Fremlin