Awards & Other Booklists

The Crime Writers' Association Gold Dagger Awards

The Gold Dagger is awarded to the best crime novel of the year. It was originally created in 1955, under the name of the Crossed Red Herrings Award. It was renamed the Gold Dagger in 1960 and has been awarded ever since with variations in its name depending on sponsorship.

For more information see: The Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Year Title Author
2017 The Dry Jane Harper
2016 Dodgers Bill Beverly
2015 Life or Death Michael Robotham
2014 This Dark Road to MercyWiley Cash
2013 Dead LionsMick Herron
2012 The RageGene Kerrigan
2011 Crooked LetterTom Franklin
2010 BlacklandsBelinda Bauer
2009 A Whispered NameWilliam Brodrick
2008 Blood From StoneFrances Fyfield
2007 The Broken ShorePeter Temple
2006 Raven BlackAnn Cleeves
2005 Silence of the GraveArnaldur Indriđason
2004 BlacklistSara Paretsky
2003 Fox EvilMinette Walters
2002 The Athenian MurdersJosé Carlos Somoza
2001 SidetrackedHenning Mankell
2000 Motherless BrooklynJonathan Lethem
1999 A Small Death in LisbonRobert Wilson
1998 Sunset LimitedJames Lee Burke
1997 Black and BlueIan Rankin
1996 PopcornBen Elton
1995 The Mermaids SingingVal McDermid
1994 The Scold's BridleMinette Walters
1993 Cruel and UnusualPatricia Cornwell
1992 The Way Through the WoodsColin Dexter
1991 King Solomon's CarpetBarbara Vine
1990 Bones and SilenceReginald Hill
1989 The Wench is DeadColin Dexter
1988 RatkingMichael Dibdin
1987 A Fatal InversionBarbara Vine
1986 Live FleshRuth Rendell
1985 Monkey PuzzlePaula Gosling
1984 The Twelfth JurorB. M. Gill
1983 Accidental CrimesJohn Hutton
1982 The False Inspector DewPeter Lovesey
1981 Gorky ParkMartin Cruz Smith
1980 The Murder of the MaharajaH. R. F. Keating
1979 Whip HandDick Francis
1978 The Chelsea MurdersLionel Davidson
1977 The Honourable SchoolboyJohn le Carré
1976 A Demon in My ViewRuth Rendell
1975 The Seven-Per-Cent SolutionNicholas Meyer
1974 Other Paths to GloryAnthony Price
1973 The Defection of A.J. LewinterRobert Littell
1972 The LevanterEric Ambler
1971 The Steam PigJames H. McClure
1970 Young Man I Think You're DyingJoan Fleming
1969 A Pride of HeroesPeter Dickinson
1968 Skin DeepPeter Dickinson
1967 Murder Against the GrainEmma Lathen
1966 A Long Way to ShilohLionel Davidson
1965 The Far Side of the DollarRoss Macdonald
1964 The Perfect MurderH. R. F. Keating
1963 The Spy Who Came in from the ColdJohn le Carré
1962 When I Grow RichJoan Fleming
1961 The Spoilt KillMary Kelly
1960 The Night of WenceslasLionel Davidson
1959 Passage of ArmsEric Ambler
1958 Someone from the PastMargot Bennett
1957 The Colour of MurderJulian Symons
1956 The Second ManEdward Grierson
1955 The Little WallsWinston Graham