Awards & Other Booklists

Carnegie Medal Winners

The Carnegie Medal is awarded annually in the United Kingdom by CILIP, the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, to the writer of an outstanding book for children. It was established by The Library Association in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919).

For more information see: The Carnegie Medal Home Page

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Year Title Author
2017 Salt to the Sea Ruta Sepetys
2016 One Sarah Crossan
2015 Buffalo Soldier Tanya Landman
2014 The Bunker Diary Kevin Brooks
2013 Maggot Moon Sally Gardner
2012 A Monster Calls Patrick Ness
2011 Monsters of Men Patrick Ness
2010 The Graveyard Book Neil Gaiman
2009 Bog Child Siobhan Dowd
2008 Here Lies Arthur Philip Reeve
2007 Just in Case Meg Rosoff
2005 Tamar Mal Peet
2004 Millions Frank Cottrell Boyce
2003 A Northern Light Jennifer Donnelly
2002 Ruby Holler Sharon Creech
2001 The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents Terry Pratchett
2000 The Other Side of Truth Beverley Naidoo
1999 Postcards From No Man's Land Aidan Chambers
1998 Skellig David Almond
1997 River Boy Tim Bowler
1996 Junk Melvin Burgess
1995 The Golden Compass (Alternate Title: Northern Lights) Philip Pullman
1994 Whispers in the Graveyard Theresa Breslin
1993 Stone Cold Robert Swindells
1992 Flour Babies Anne Fine
1991 Dear Nobody Berlie Doherty
1990 Wolf Gillian Cross
1989 Goggle-eyes Anne Fine
1988 A Pack of Lies Geraldine McCaughrean
1987 The Ghost Drum Susan Price
1986 Granny was a Buffer Girl Berlie Doherty
1985 Storm Kevin Crossley-Holland
1984 The Changeover Margaret Mahy
1983 Handles Jan Mark
1982 The Haunting Margaret Mahy
1981 The Scarecrows Robert Westall
1980 City of Gold Peter Dickinson
1979 Tulku Peter Dickinson
1978 The Exeter Blitz David Rees
1977 The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler Gene Kemp
1976 Thunder and Lightnings Jan Mark
1975 The Machine Gunners Robert Westall
1974 The Stronghold Mollie Hunter
1973 The Ghost of Thomas Kempe Penelope Lively
1972 Watership Down Richard Adams
1971 Josh Ivan Southall
1970 The God Beneath the Sea Leon Garfield & Edward Blishen
1969 The Edge of the Cloud Kathleen Peyton
1968 The Moon in the Cloud Rosemary Harris
1967 The Owl Service Alan Garner
1966 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable
1965 The Grange at High Force Philip Turner
1964 Nordy Bank Sheena Porter
1963 Time of Trial Hester Burton
1962 The Return of the Twelves (Alternate Title: The Twelve and the Genii) Pauline Clarke
1961 A Stranger at Green Knowe Lucy M Boston
1960 The Making of Man Dr I W Cornwall
1959 The Lantern Bearers Rosemary Sutcliff
1958 Tom's Midnight Garden Philipa Pearce
1957 A Grass Rope William Mayne
1956 The Last Battle C S Lewis
1955 The Little Bookroom Eleanor Farjeon
1954 Knight Crusader Ronald Welch (Felton Ronald Oliver)
1953 A Valley Grows Up Edward Osmond
1952 The Borrowers Mary Norton
1951 The Wool-pack Cynthia Harnett
1950 The Lark on the Wing Elfrida Vipont Foulds
1949 The Story of Your Home Agnes Allen
1948 Sea Change Richard Armstrong
1947 Collected Stories for Children Walter De La Mare
1946 The Little White Horse Elizabeth Goudge
1945 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable
1944 The Wind on the Moon Eric Linklater
1943 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable
1942 The Little Grey Men 'BB' (D J Watkins-Pitchford)
1941 We Couldn't Leave Dinah Mary Treadgold
1940 Visitors from London Kitty Barne
1939 Radium Woman Eleanor Doorly
1938 The Circus is Coming Noel Streatfeild
1937 The Family from One End Street Eve Garnett
1936 Pigeon Post Arthur Ransome