Awards & Other Booklists

Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize aims to reward the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the British Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland. The Man Booker judges are selected from the country's finest critics, writers and academics to maintain the consistent excellence of the prize.

For more information see: The Man Booker Prize

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Year Title Author
2017 Lincoln in the Bardo George Saunders
2016 The Sellout Paul Beatty
2015 A Brief History of Seven Killings Marlon James
2014 The Narrow Road to the Deep North Richard Flanagan
2013 The Luminaries Eleanor Catton
2012 Bring Up the Bodies Hillary Mantel
2011 The Sense of an Ending Julian Barnes
2010 The Finkler Question Howard Jacobson
2009 Wolf Hall Hilary Mantel
2008 The White Tiger Aravind Adiga
2007 The Gathering Anne Enright
2006 The Inheritance of Loss Kiran Desai
2005 The Sea John Banville
2004 The Line of Beauty Alan Hollinghurst
2003 Vernon God Little DBC Pierre
2002 Life of Pi Yann Martel
2001 True History of the Kelly Gang Peter Carey
2000 The Blind Assassin Margaret Atwood
1999 Disgrace J.M. Coetzee
1998 Amsterdam Ian McEwan
1997 The God of Small Things Arundhati Roy
1996 Last Orders Graham Swift
1995 The Ghost Road Pat Barker
1994 How Late It Was, How Late James Kelman
1993 Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha Roddy Doyle
1992 The English Patient Michael Ondaatje;
1992 Sacred Hunger Barry Unsworth
1991 The Famished Road Ben Okri
1990 Possession: A Romance A.S. Byatt
1989 The Remains of the Day Kazuo Ishiguro
1988 Oscar and Lucinda Peter Carey
1987 Moon Tiger Penelope Lively
1986 The Old Devils Kingsley Amis
1985 The Bone People Keri Hulme
1984 Hotel du Lac Anita Brookner
1983 Life & Times of Michael K J.M. Coetzee
1982 Schindler's List Thomas Keneally
1981 Midnight's Children Salman Rushdie
1980 Rites of Passage William Golding
1979 Offshore Penelope Fitzgerald
1978 The Sea, The Sea Iris Murdoch
1977 Staying On Paul Scott
1976 Saville David Storey
1975 Heat and Dust Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
1974 The Conservationist Nadine Gordimer
1974 Holiday Stanley Middleton
1973 The Siege of Krishnapur J.G. Farrell
1972 G.: A Novel John Berger
1971 In a Free State V.S. Naipaul
1970 The Elected Member Bernice Rubens
1969 Something to Answer For P.H. Newby