Awards & Other Booklists

PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is a national prize which honors the best published works of fiction by American citizens in a calendar year. Three judges, chosen annually by the directors of the PEN/Faulkner Foundation, select five books from among the more than 300 works submitted, making this the largest peer-juried award in the country. The winning writer and four finalists are honored at a ceremony held in Washington at the Folger Shakespeare Library in May.

For more information see: The PEN/Faulkner Foundation
List of past winners and finalists

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Year Author Title
2018 Award Winner Joan Silber Improvement
2017 Award Winner Imbolo Mbue Behold the Dreamers
2016 Award Winner James Hannaham Delicious Foods
2015 Award Winner Atticus Lish Preparation for the Next Life
2014 Award Winner Karen Joy Fowler We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves
2013 Award Winner Benjamin Alire Sáenz Everything Begins and Ends at the Kentucky Club
2012 Award Winner Julie Otsuka The Buddha in the Attic
2011 Award Winner Deborah Eisenberg The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg
     Finalists Jennifer Egan A Visit from the Goon Squad
  Jaimy Gordon Lord of Misrule
  Eric Puchner Model Home
  Brad Watson Aliens in the Prime of Their Lives
2010 Award Winner Sherman Alexie War Dances
     Finalists Barbara Kingsolver The Lacuna
  Lorraine Lopéz Homicide Survivors Picnic
  Lorrie Moore A Gate at the Stairs
  Colson Whitehead Sag Harbor
2009 Award Winner Joseph O'Neill Netherland
     Finalists Sarah Shun-lien Bynum Ms. Hempel Chronicles
  Susan Choi A Person of Interest
  Richard Price Lush Life
  Ron Rash Serena
2008 Award Winner Kate Christensen The Great Man
     Finalists Annie Dillard The Maytrees
  David Leavitt The Indian Clerk
  T.M. McNally The Gateway: Stories
  Ron Rash Chemistry and Other Stories
2007 Award Winner Philip Roth Everyman
     Finalists Charles D'Ambrosio The Dead Fish Museum
  Deborah Eisenberg Twilight of the Superheroes
  Amy Hempel The Collected Stories of Amy Hempel
  Edward P. Jones All Aunt Hagar's Children
2006 Award Winner E.L. Doctorow The March
     Finalists Karen Fisher A Sudden Country
  William Henry Lewis I Got Somebody in Staunton
  James Salter Last Night
  Bruce Wagner The Chrysanthemum Palace
2005 Award Winner Ha Jin War Trash
     Finalists Jerome Charyn The Green Lantern
  Edwidge Danticat The Dew Breaker
  Marilynne Robinson Gilead
  Steve Yarbrough Prisoners of War
2004 Award Winner John Updike The Early Stories 1953-1975
     Finalists Frederick Barthemle Elroy Nights
  ZZ Packer Drinking Coffee Elsewhere
  Caryl Phillips A Distant Shore
  Tobias Wolff Old School
2003 Award Winner Sabina Murray The Caprices
     Finalists Peter Cameron The City of Your Final Destination
  William Kennedy Roscoe
  Victor LaValle The Ecstatic
  Gilbert Sorrentino Little Casino
2002 Award Winner Ann Patchett Bel Canto
     Finalists Karen Joy Fowler Sister Noon
  Jonathan Franzen The Corrections
  Claire Messud The Hunters
  Manil Suri The Death of Vishnu
2001 Award Winner Philip Roth The Human Stain
     Finalists Michael Chabon The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
  Millicent Dillon Harry Gold
  Denis Johnson The Name of the World
  Mona Simpson Off Keck Road
2000 Award Winner Ha Jin Waiting
     Finalists Frederick Busch The Night Inspector
  Ken Kalfus PU-239
  Elizabeth Strout Amy and Isabelle
  Lily Tuck Siam
1999 Award Winner Michael Cunningham The Hours
     Finalists Russell Banks Cloudsplitter
  Barbara Kingsolver The Poisonwood Bible
  Brian Morton Starting Out in the Evening
  Richard Selzer The Doctor Stories
1998 Award Winner Rafi Zabor The Bear Comes Home
     Finalists Donald Antrim The Hundred Brothers
  Rilla Askew The Mercy Seat
  Mary Gaitskill Because They Wanted To
  Francisco Goldman The Ordinary Seaman
1997 Award Winner Gina Berriault Women in their Beds
     Finalists Daniel Akst St. Burl's Obituary
  Kathleen Cambor The Book of Mercy
  Ron Hansen Atticus
  Jamaica Kincaid The Autobiography of My Mother
1996 Award Winner Richard Ford Independence Day
     Finalists Madison Smart Bell All Souls' Rising
  William Gass The Tunnel
  Claire Messud When the World Was Steady
  J. Verdelle The Good Negress
1995 Award Winner David Guterson Snow Falling on Cedars
     Finalists Frederich Busch The Children in the Woods
  Ursula Hegi Stones from the River
  Joyce Carol Oates What I Lived For
  Joanna Scott Various Antidotes
1994 Award Winner Philip Roth Operation Shylock
     Finalists Stanley Elkin Van Gogh's Room at Arles
  Dagoberto Gilb The Magic of Blood
  Fae Myenne Ng Bone
  Kate Wheeler Not Where I Started From
1993 Award Winner E. Annie Proulx Postcards
     Finalists Robert Olen Butler A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain
  Francisco Goldman The Long Night of White Chickens
  Maureen Howard Natural History
  Sylvia Watanabe Talking to the Dead
1992 Award Winner Don DeLillo Mao II
     Finalists Stephen Dixon Frog
  Paul Gervais Extraordinary People
  Allan Gurganus White People
  Bradford Morrow The Almanac Branch
1991 Award Winner John Edgar Wideman Philadelphia Fire
     Finalists Paul Auster The Music of Chance
  Joanne Meschery A Gentleman's Guide to the Frontier
  Steven Millhauser The Barnum Museum
  Joanna Scott Arrogance
1990 Award Winner E. L. Doctorow Billy Bathgate
     Finalists Russell Banks Affliction
  Molly Gloss The Jump-Off Creek
  Josephine Jacobsen On the Island
  Lynne Sharon Schwartz Leaving Brooklyn
1989 Award Winner James Salter Dusk
     Finalists Mary McGarry Morris Vanished
  Thomas Savage The Corner of Rife and Pacific
  Isaac Bashevis Singer The Death of Methuselah
1988 Award Winner T. Coraghessan Boyle World's End
     Finalists Richard Bausch Spirits
  Alice McDermott That Night
  Cynthia Ozick The Messiah of Stockholm
  Lawrence Thornton Imagining Argentina
1987 Award Winner Richard Wiley Soldiers in Hiding
     Finalists Richard Ford The Sportswriter
  Charles Johnson The Sorcerer's Apprentice
  Janet Kauffman Collaborators
  Maureen Howard Expensive Habits
1986 Award Winner Peter Taylor The Old Forest
     Finalists William Gaddis Carpenter's Gothic
  Larry McMurtry Lonesome Dove
  Hugh Nissenson The Tree of Life
  Helen Norris The Christmas Wife
  Grace Paley Later the Same Day
1985 Award Winner Tobias Wolff The Barracks Thief
     Finalists Harriet Doerr Stones for Ibarra
  Donald Hays The Dixie Association
  David Leavitt Family Dancing
  James Purdy On Glory's Course
1984 Award Winner John Edgar Wideman Sent for You Yesterday
     Finalists Ron Hansen The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
  William Kennedy Ironweed
  Jamaica Kincaid At the Bottom of the River
  Bernard Malamud The Stories of Bernard Malamud
  Cynthia Ozick The Cannibal Galaxy
1983 Award Winner Toby Olson Seaview
     Finalists Maureen Howard Grace Abounding
  Bobbie Ann Mason Shiloh and Other Stories
  George Steiner The Portage to San Cristobal of A.H.
  Anne Tyler Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant
  William S. Wilson Birthplace
1982 Award Winner David Bradley The Chaneysville Incident
     Finalists Donald Barthelme Sixty Stories
  Richard Bausch Take Me Back
  Mark Helprin Ellis Island and Other Stories
  Marilynne Robinson Housekeeping
  Robert Stone A Flag for Sunrise
1981 Award Winner Walter Abish How German Is It?
     Finalists Shirley Hazzard The Transit of Venus
  Walker Percy The Second Coming
  Gilbert Sorrentino Aberration of Starlight
  John Kennedy Toole A Confederacy of Dunces