Awards & Other Booklists

The James Beard Foundation Cookbook Hall of Fame

This award is given to a cookbook or body of work that has had a significant and enduring impact on the way we cook and understand food.

For more information see: The James Beard Foundation Book Awards

Click on the titles below to search the catalog

Year Title Author
2017 Judith Jones
2016 Deborah Madison
2015 Barbara Kafka
2014 Diana Kennedy
2013 Anne Willan
2012 Home Cooking and More Home Cooking Laurie Colwin
2011 On Food and Cooking: The Science & Lore of the KitchenHarold McGee
2010 A Book of Middle Eastern Food Claudia Roden
2009 Jane Grigson's Vegetable BookJane Grigson
2008 Couscous and Other Good Food From Morocco Paula Wolfert
2007 Moosewood Cookbook Mollie Katzen
2006 An Invitation to Indian Cooking Madhur Jaffrey
2005 The Great Scandinavian Baking Book Beatrice Ojakangas
2004 The Modern Art of Chinese CookingBarbara Tropp
2003 Edna Lewis
2002 North Atlantic SeafoodAlan Davidson
2001 A Book of Mediterranean FoodElizabeth David
2000 Classic Italian CookingMarcella Hazan
1999 The Doubleday Cookbook, Jean Anderson Cooks, The Food of Portugal, The Nutrition Bible, and The American Century Cookbook Jean Anderson
1998 Maida Heatter's Book of Great DessertsMaida Heatter
1997 French Provincial Cooking Elizabeth David
1996 La Technique and La Methode Jacques Pépin
1995 Greene on Greens Bert Greene
1994 Alice Let's Eat, American Fried, and Third HelpingsCalvin Trillin
1993 Simple French Food Richard Olney
1992 The Silver Palate Cookbook Julee Rosso and Sheila Lukins
1991 The Food of France and The Food of ItalyWaverley Root
1990 The Art of Eating M.F.K. Fisher
1988 Foods of the World (18 volumes 1969-1972) Time-Life Books
1987 Mastering the Art of French Cooking Julia Child
1985 Georges Auguste Escoffier Cookbook Collection Georges Auguste Escoffier
1984 The James Beard Cookbook James Beard
1983 The Betty Crocker Cookbook Betty Crocker
1982 The New York Times Cookbook Craig Claiborne
1981 The Cordon Bleu Cook Book Dione Lucas
1980 The Fannie Farmer Cookbook Marion Cunningham
1979 The Joy of Cooking Irma Rombauer
1978 The Settlement Cookbook Lillian Kander